古老的大地

纯洁且珍贵

口味的选择 藏红花的储存

返回

浪漫的藏红花

藏红花的精神

藏红花在庆典中

藏红花与治疗
 
藏红花的种植

制成1公斤藏红花成品大约需要150,000朵藏红花。

藏红花是多年生草本植物。由球状茎和六片或更多的放射状排列的细长叶子组成。紫罗兰色的单片花瓣与细长的灰黄色花柱组成。花柱的顶部,分成三个桔红色的柱头。将这些柱头和花柱晒干后,就可以制成世界上最珍贵的香料了。

在施过肥料的钙质土地上,藏红花一般可以种植6-9年。在克什米尔,藏红花与水稻的种植交替进行,因为水稻可以为土地带来有机物,令它更加肥沃。



土地的翻整等准备工作一般在七月初展开。耕地仍沿用古老的方式-牛拉犁。翻耕的土地整成垄,然后将藏红花的球状根茎种在垄里。翻松的土地需要具备良好的透水性,否则雨水容易将球状根茎破坏。

 到了十月末,鲜花绽放,我们可以从淡紫色的花朵中看到亮桔红色的柱头。

我们要在花朵成熟、花柱头的全盛时刻迅速采摘。因为花朵只在早晨开放,所以采摘前的准备工作是十分必要的。在太阳还未升起时分,全家大人小孩已经挎着篮子向目的地出发了

按照传统方法,种植、采摘、将花柱头从花瓣中分离、晒干等一系列的工序都是由农家全家老少共同来完成的。这是个欢庆的时节,人们在这个时候都会制作一些藏红花茶或Kahwa(当地一种饮品)来助兴。

由于藏红花的质量尤其是色泽和香味会在采摘和加工过程中损失一部分,所以抓紧时间采摘和提高加工过程的速度就显得尤为重要了。在采摘花朵的同时就要把花柱头从花瓣中分离出来,花柱的长度经过自然风干后会缩短为原来的1/5,但它的颜色会变得更加鲜红。这时的花柱坚硬而光滑,已经可以作为成品了。

一公斤珍贵的藏红花粉需要大约150,000多鲜花瓣才能制成。

美丽的山谷
富补的佳肴

克什米尔人的手工技巧展现在种植藏红花的田地中!

藏红花的种植是个非常辛苦而且十分细致的工作。因为藏红花的纤细、娇嫩和珍贵,所以种植藏红花时需要种植者具备专业知识和熟练技巧,而非一般人能够胜任的。

克什米尔人民不但具备高超的种植技巧,而且眼光独到,使得他们轻松掌控该项种植工作。

在加工藏红花的时候,他们细心地将花柱头逐个分离采摘。150,000个花柱头才可以制作成一公斤藏红花成品!
 



Romance of saffron Spiritual saffron Ceremonial saffron Therapy & saffron

Ancient fields Pure and precious Taster's choice Saffron store Home
 
Cultivation of saffron

About 150,000 flowers for one kilogram of saffron

The saffron plant the crocus sativus is a short statured perennial herb with a spherical underground corm (or bulb) and six or more radially arranged narrow and elongated leaves. The violet-blue flowers grow singly and bear elongated pale yellow styles divided at the top into three-branched orange-red stigmas. These stigmas along with their styles are dried to form the most precious spice in the world.

The crop is grown on the same land for 6 - 9 years after which the calcareous earth needs to be recharged with nutrients. In Kashmir, the practice is to alternate with paddy cultivation, which fertilises the soil with organic material and makes it rich and healthy again.

Preparation of the fields begins in early July. The earth is tilled with the traditional hoe pulled by a bullock. The loosened earth is formed into ridges along which corms are planted. Aerated soil and good drainage are essential, because the bulbs are easily damaged by rain.

By October end the blossoms are in full bloom. The stigmas are bright orange-red and are clearly visible among the lilac flowers.

The harvesting is done rapidly once the blossoms reach maturity to get the stigmas in their prime. The flowers bloom only in the morning, making early picking necessary. Before sunrise the entire family including children and helpers fan out over the fields with baskets.

Traditionally, planting, harvesting, separation of the stigma from the flower, drying of the saffron is done by all generations of the farmer's family. It is a festive occasion, with kahwa or saffron tea being served as a refresher.

Timing of harvest and speedy processing is important, as there can be rapid loss of quality, particularly in the colouring and aromatic properties of the saffron. Simultaneously, while the crocus blooms are being collected, the stigmas are separated from the flowers. The stigmas are naturally and slowly dried, a process that shrinks the stigma to one fifth of its original size and enhances its bright red colour. Now the stigma is rigid, without wrinkles and ready to use.

About 150,000 fresh flowers yield just one kilogram of the precious crop.

The beautiful valley
Enriched cuisines

The Kashmiri's handicraft skills and finesse are truly on display at a saffron farm!

Working on saffron plantations is labour intensive and extremely tiring. Because the crop is so fine, delicate and precious, expertise is essential. Farmers will not enlist casual labour for the job.

The people of Kashmir have an extraordinary finesse and eye for detail which makes them exceptionally equipped for handling this type of work.

Painstakingly they remove stigma after stigma, as many as 150,000 to build up a single kilogram of produce!



Romance of saffron Spiritual saffron Ceremonial saffron Therapy & saffron